top of page

2016 NM IDEA Award Winners

Updated: Apr 3, 2020

Ben Lujan Public Servant of the Year Award: Sharlene Begay-Platero, Industrial Specialist for the Navajo Nation. Sharlene was awarded because of her work in getting the Raytheon Warehouse Expansion to fruition which saved current and future contracts and crucial jobs.

Economic Developer of the Year Award: Patricia Lundstrom, Executive Director of the Greater Gallup Economic Development Corporation. Patty was chosen because of her impressive work in advancing, on multiple fronts, the Gallup Energy Logistics Park which is a unique visionary project that is preparing the community for future growth.

Dallan Sanders Award: Raymond Mondragon, Economic Development Director for Eastern Plains Council of Governments. Raymond was selected due to hisimportant contributions to New Mexico economic development including years as Chairman of the New Mexico Partnership and service representing eastern New Mexico on the Economic Development Commission.

Linda Kay Jones New Mexico First Award: Mike Espiritu, President/CEO of the Otero County Economic Development Council. Mike was selected because of his continued passion for economic development in legislation, community assistance and job creation. He works tirelessly not only for Otero County but for the entire State of New Mexico.

Volunteer of the Year: Les Montoya, San Miguel County Manager was selected because of his significant contribution to economic development. Les has been instrumental in working with the Las Vegas San Miguel Economic Development Corporation’s goal of creating job opportunities for many years.

Ethics Award: Laurie Anderson, Business Development Director of the Otero County Economic Development Council. Laurie was selected because she goes above and beyond in her duties supporting numerous clients’ business attraction and expansion efforts, all while handling extremely sensitive data. Her unwavering integrity is her standard, and she protects clients, and their company’s information with the highest degree of professionalism.

12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

2015 NM IDEA Award Winners

New Mexico IDEA, the Statewide Association of Economic Developers, Announces 2015 Award Winners at Annual Meeting in Las Cruces Las Cruces, New Mexico, November 13, 2015 - New Mexico IDEA presented aw


bottom of page